Kansas Department of Administration

Benefits

Deferred Compensation Enrollment - Deferred Compensation Loan Program

Contact:  KPERS 457, 1-800-232-0024; outside of Topeka; 785-414-3600
kpers457@kpers.org

Flexible Spending Accounts (FSA)

Contact:  sephmembership@kdheks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Change dependent FSA amount
  • Change health FSA amount
  • Correcting mistakes on enrollment forms
FMLA

Contact:   Sarah Beck, OPS; 296-4352; sarah.beck@ks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Use of paid vs. unpaid leave
  • Use of paid leave toward FMLA entitlement
  • Serious health condition
  • Use of intermittent leave
Group Health Insurance (GHI) - Active Employees Only

Contacts: 
Karla Benkula, SEHP; 785-296-5443; KBenkula@kdheks.gov
Joan L. Peterson, SEHP; 785-296-3147; JPeterson@kdheks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Determining elgibility for participation in SEHP Benefits (Medical, Dental, Vision, FSA, & HSA)
  • Reviewing, responding to, and approving all GHI requests for SOK Active employees in SEHP Membership Administration Portal (MAP)
  • New hire, mid-year qualifying events, termination from employment & Open Enrollment for SOK active employees
Group Health Insurance (GHI) - Consumer Driver Health Plans

Contact:  Laura Smith, SEHP; 785-368-6341; LBSmith@kdheks.gov
Typical Questions

  • Determining eligibility for participation in SEHP Consumer Driver Health Plans - FSA, HSA & HRA for SOK active employees
  • Reviewing, responding to and approval all GHI requests for SOK active employees regarding FSA, HSA & HRA programs in SEHP Membership Administration Portal (MAP)
  • New hire, mid-year qualifying events, termination from employment & Open Enrollment regarding FSA, HSA, HRA programs for SOK Active employees
Group Health Insurance (GHI) - Direct Bill/Retiree Only

Contact: 
Deb Dumas, SEHP; 785-291-3126; ddumas@kdheks.gov
Emma Teague, SEHP; 785-291-3264; ETeague@kdheks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Determining eligibility for continuing GHI under the SEHP Direct Bill/Retiree Program
  • Reviewing, responding to & approving all requests for SOK employees retiring or going on Direct Bill in SEHP Membership Administration Portal (MAP)
  • Mid-year qualifying events, Open Enrollment and discontinuation of Direct Bill/Retiree coverage under the SEHP
Group Health Insurance (GHI) - COBRA Continuation

Contact:  Connie Bell, SEHP; 785-296-0880; CBell@kdheks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Determining eligibility for continuing GHI under COBRA continuation
  • Coordination of administration of COBRA coverage with COBRA administrator
KPERS Buyback Enrollment
  • Contact:  KPERS at 1-888-275-5737; outside of Topeka; or 296-6666 in Topeka

Optional Group Life Insurance Enrollment
  • Contact:  KPERS at 1-888-275-5737; outside of Topeka; or 296-6666 in Topeka

Shared Leave

Contact:  Jolene Flowers, OPS; 296-4278; jolene.flowers@ks.gov
Typical Questions:

  • Requests for Shared Leave
  • Donations of vacation and sick leave

« Back

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.