Kansas Department of Administration

23-A-001 FY 2023 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates

INFORMATIONAL CIRCULAR NO.:      23-A-001                Supersedes: 22-A-001

DATE:                          June 27, 2022

SUBJECT:                   FY 2023 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates

EFFECTIVE DATE:    July 1, 2022

APPROVAL:               Nancy Ruoff (original signature on file)

SUMMARY:                 FY 2023 Private Reimbursement Mileage Rates

In establishing private reimbursement mileage rates the state is bound by the statutory limits within K.S.A. 75-3203a (c) which states that the rates may be revised as conditions require, but shall not exceed the lowest of the following:

  1. the rate allowed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS);
  2. the rate used in preparing the governor’s budget report under K.S.A. 75-3721, and amendments thereto; or
  3. any revision of the rate as specifically directed in appropriation acts of the legislature.

The IRS established the federal standard mileage rate effective January 1, 2022 at 58.5 cents per mile, which was used in revising the FY 23 Budget Indices this spring. 

Most recently (June 9, 2022) the IRS announced another standard mileage rate increase for the 2nd half of calendar year 2022, however, in order to comply with K.S.A. 75-3203a(c) the state rates are limited to the cost indices representing the revised governor’s budget for FY 2023. 

Effective July 1, 2022 the state rates are established as

  • 58.5¢ per mile for privately owned automobile
  • 56.5¢ per mile for privately owned motorcycle
  • $1.515 per mile for privately owned airplane (based on air miles rather than highway miles)
  • 18¢ per mile for moving mileage rate

The Department of Administration and the Division of Budget will be monitoring inflation, fuel prices, and IRS announcements in order to consider if any further adjustments may be available during FY 2023 under K.S.A 75-3203a.

NR:me:te

« Back

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.