State employees recognized for 40, 50 years of service to Kansas

Sep 15, 2015

Governor Sam Brownback joined with the Kansas Department of Administration on Thursday, Sept. 10, in honoring more than state employees who have served the state for more than 40 years.

Brownback and KDOA Acting Secretary Sarah L. Shipman awarded an official service pin celebrating the longevity of each honoree who completed either 40 or 50 years of service during the past fiscal year 2015. The ceremony was held in the first floor rotunda of the Kansas Statehouse in Topeka.

Two individuals were honored for 50 years of service. They were Buddy Johns from Wichita State University and Kathleen Hackett from the Department of Administration's Office of Personnel Services. A third, Bobby J. Gassmann, retired in March with more than 50 years of service to the Kansas Department of Transportation. Gassmann didn't attend the ceremony.

Bios of 40-, 50-year service honorees