Kansas Department of Administration

Can we pass fees charged by TOP on to the debtor?

Yes. Per K.S.A. 75-6204, as amended, the Kansas Treasury Offset Program is authorized by law (HB 2111) to pass on TOP collection fees to the debtor.

Example 1 above: The debtor would receive credit for only $85 to be applied to their $100 debt. The $15 collection fee is passed onto the debtor; leaving the debtor with a remaining $15 debt balance.
Example 2 above: The debtor would receive credit for only $70 to be applied to their $100 debt. The $30 collection fee ($15 per payment interception) is passed onto the debtor; leaving the debtor with a remaining $30 debt balance.

« Back

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.