Kansas Department of Administration

17-A-008 Updated FY 2017 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates (December 28, 2016) (Supersedes 17-A-001)

Informational Circular No. 17-A-008
Supersedes Informational Circular No: 17-A-001
Effective Date: January 1, 2017
Approval: DeAnn Hill (Original Signature on File)

 

Contact Name: Phone Number Email Address
Janette Martin (785) 296-2708 Janette.Martin@ks.gov
Ginnie Schirmer (785) 296-7021 Ginnie.Schirmer@ks.gov
Stacy Cooper (785) 296-3242 Stacy.Cooper@ks.gov
Brad Elkins (785) 296-3356 Bradley.Elkins@ks.gov
Brandy Wilson (785) 296-6260 Brandy.Wilson@ks.gov

 

Summary: Updated FY 2017 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced changes in standard mileage rates effective January 1, 2017.  The IRS rate for privately owned automobiles decreases to 53.5 cents per mile while the moving mileage rate decreases to 17 cents per mile.

K.S.A. 75-3203a provides that the mileage reimbursement rates shall not exceed the lowest of the following:

  1. the rate allowed by the IRS;
  2. the rate used in preparing the governor’s budget report under K.S.A. 75-3721, and amendments thereto; or
  3. any revision of the rate as specifically directed in appropriation acts of the legislature.

Thus, per the requirements of K.S.A. 75-3203a, the Department of Administration has reduced the rates for mileage reimbursement for the remainder of FY 2017, effective January 1, 2017:

  • 53.5¢ per mile for privately owned automobile
  • 50.5¢ per mile for privately owned motorcycle
  • $1.15 per mile for privately owned airplane (based on air miles rather than highway miles)
  • 17¢ per mile for moving mileage rate

DH:jm

Printable Version of 17-A-008

« Back

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.