Kansas Department of Administration

07-P-025 Employee Taxability of State-Owned or Leased Vehicles (Supersedes 06-P-015)

DATE: February 6, 2007
SUBJECT: Employee Taxability of State-Owned or Leased Vehicles
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2007
CONTACT: Kathy Ogle (785) 296-2290 Kathy.Ogle@da.ks.gov
APPROVAL: Image of approval signature.
SUMMARY: IRS Changes Luxury Vehicle Fair Market Value for Calendar Year 2007

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has changed the definition of a “luxury vehicle” beginning January 1, 2007.  A “luxury vehicle” will be defined as one with a fair market value in excess of $15,100, increased from $15,000, for a passenger vehicle first made available for an employee’s personal use in 2007.  This definition is used under the Cents-Per-Mile method of valuing an employee’s personal (commuting) use of a state-owned or leased vehicle.  The Cents-Per-Mile valuation is one of several methodologies that can be used to calculate fringe benefit income.  See Informational Circular No. 05-P-023*.  Using this methodology, fringe benefit income is calculated by multiplying the 48.5 cents rate by the number of personal (commuting) miles driven by the employee in the state-owned or leased vehicle.  To be eligible to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, at least 50% of the vehicle’s total mileage is used for the employer’s trade or business, or the vehicle is primarily used by employees and the total mileage for the vehicle exceeds 10,000 miles per year.  The Cents-Per-Mile method may not be used for ‘luxury’ vehicles.  If a vehicle is first made available to an employee for personal (commuting) use in calendar year 2007 and the agency wishes to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, the fair market value of the vehicle cannot exceed $15,100.  Agencies and employees are also reminded that the only personal use of a state-owned or leased vehicle allowed under state law is to commute between the employee’s work station and home, and then in only limited situations.

Please note that this Informational Circular does not impact the State’s privately owned vehicle mileage reimbursement rate.

*Informational Circular No. 05-P-023 contains an incorrect K.A.R. reference number in the next to the last paragraph of the POLICY section.  The reference should be:  Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-17-2a(b)(1).

RLM:JJM:kao

« Back

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.