Kansas Department of Administration

03-P-021 Employee Taxability of State-Owned Vehicles (Revises 02-P-018)

DATE: November 15, 2002
SUBJECT: Employee Taxability of State-Owned Vehicles
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2003
CONTACT: Roger Basinger (785) 296-5387 roger.basinger@da.state.ks.us
SUMMARY: IRS Changes to Cents-Per-Mile Valuation Rule for Calendar Year 2003

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has decreased the mileage rate from 36.5 cents (for 2002) to 36 cents (for 2003) under the Cents-Per-Mile method of valuing an employee's personal (commuting) use of a state-owned vehicle. The new rate becomes effective January 1, 2003. The Cents-Per-Mile valuation is one of several methodologies that can be used to calculate fringe benefit income. Using this methodology, fringe benefit income is calculated by multiplying the 36 cents rate by the number of personal (commuting) miles driven by the employee in the state-owned vehicle. To be eligible to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, at least 50% of the vehicles total mileage is used for the employer's trade or business, or the vehicle is primarily used by employees and the total mileage for the vehicle exceeds 10,000 miles per year. The Cents-Per-Mile method may not be used for 'luxury' vehicles. If a vehicle is first made available to an employee for personal (commuting) use in calendar year 2003 and the agency wishes to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, please contact Payroll Services for the 'luxury' vehicle definition. Agencies and employees are also reminded that the only personal use of a state vehicle allowed under state law is to commute between the employee's work station and home, and then in only limited situations.

Please note that this Informational Circular does not impact the State's privately owned vehicle mileage reimbursement rate.


« Back

© 2023 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.