Kansas Department of Administration

22-A-001 FY 2022 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates (July 1, 2021) (Supersedes 21-A-008)

Posted on 10/21/2021 at 12:51 PM by Kansas Department of Administration

Informational Circular No.22-A-001
Supersedes Informational Circular No:21-A-008
Effective Date:July 1, 2021
Contact Name: Statewide Agency Audit Services TeamEmail: ARpreaudit@ks.gov
Approval: Jocelyn Gunter (original signature on file)
Summary: FY 2022 Private Reimbursement Mileage Rates

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced the standard mileage rates effective July 1, 2021. All rates remain unchanged. The IRS rate for privately owned automobiles remains 56 cents per mile, the motorcycle rate remains 54 cents per mile, the moving reimbursement rate remains 16 cents per mile, and the airplane reimbursement rate remains $1.26 per air mile.

K.S.A. 75-3203a provides that the mileage reimbursement rates shall not exceed the lowest of the following:

  1. the rate allowed by the IRS;
  2. the rate used in preparing the governor's budget report under K.S.A. 75-3721, and amendments thereto; or
  3. any revision of the rate as specifically directed in appropriation acts of the legislature.

Thus, per the requirements of K.S.A. 75-3203a, the Department of Administration has published the rates for mileage reimbursement for FY 2022, effective July 1, 2021:

  • 56¢ per mile for privately owned automobile
  • 54¢ per mile for privately owned motorcycle
  • $1.26 per mile for privately owned airplane (based on air miles rather than highway miles)
  • 16¢ per mile for moving mileage rate

JG:me:te

Printable version of 22-A-001

Comments
There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.