Can we pass fees charged by TOP on to the debtor?
Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:50 PM by Kansas Department of Administration
Yes. Per K.S.A. 75-6204, as amended, the Kansas Treasury Offset Program is authorized by law (HB 2111) to pass on TOP collection fees to the debtor.
|Example 1 above:||The debtor would receive credit for only $85 to be applied to their $100 debt. The $15 collection fee is passed onto the debtor; leaving the debtor with a remaining $15 debt balance.|
|Example 2 above:||The debtor would receive credit for only $70 to be applied to their $100 debt. The $30 collection fee ($15 per payment interception) is passed onto the debtor; leaving the debtor with a remaining $30 debt balance.|
There are no comments yet.
01-a-021 - Capital Outlay Policy Raising Capitalization Threshold to $5,000 and Policy for Safeguarding Assets (June 21, 2001) (Supersedes 00-a-021, Supplements 01-a-018) (Supplemented by 02-a-017)
05-a-005 - Mandatory Direct Deposit for State Employee Reimbursements (July 7, 2004) (supplemented by 05-a-012)
16-P-007 SHARP Cutover for PeopleTools Upgrade, SMART Upgrade and Other Key Payroll Processing Dates in November 2015 (October 9, 2015)