98-a-008 - Employee Moving Expense Reimbursement (October 13, 1997) (Supersedes 1255 and 1265 (except the Bid Form))
Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:49 PM by Kansas Department of Administration
|INFORMATIONAL CIRCULAR NO. 98-A-008||(Supersedes 1255 and 1265 (except the Bid Form))|
|DATE:||October 13, 1997|
|SUBJECT:||Employee Moving Expense Reimbursement|
|A & R CONTACT:||Payroll Processing - Sunni Zentner, Payroll Services||(785) 296-7058|
|Moving Reimbursement - Randy Kennedy, Accounting Services||(785) 296-2125|
|SUMMARY:||Summarization of current moving statues and regulations. This circular also identifies the additional moving expenses which must be reimbursed though supplemental payroll.|
Chapter 115, New Section 1, of the 1997 Kansas Session Laws authorizes additional moving and relocation expenses, in addition to those allowed by previously issued Informational Circular 1255. The Secretary of Administration has also amended K.A.R 1-16-2a to reflect these changes.
Moving and relocation expenses are reimbursable for in-state and out-of-state applicants (new hires). The prior approval of the governor shall be required if the applicant resides out-of-state.
Moving and relocation expenses for current employees may be paid when the new official station is more than 25 miles from the old duty station. Moving and relocation expenses will not be paid when a transfer is made primarily for the convenience or benefit of the employee or at the employee's request.
Effective for moves occurring on or after July 1, 1997, the following additional expenses are considered qualified moving expenses but are always required to be paid through SHARP with earnings code MVT (See Accounts and Reports Informational Circular 97-P-026):
- Expenses related to one pre-move trip to look for a new residence.
- Meal allowance while en route from the old residence to the new residence (must be a move of at least 30 miles).
- Subsistence expenses while occupying temporary quarters for a period of 30 days. Additional 30 day periods may paid when deemed necessary by the agency head, with the approval of the Director of Accounts and Reports, on Form DA-34, Subsistence or Storage Extension Request.
The following items are considered supplemental wages and should be paid through SHARP with earnings code MVT when the new work location is greater than 25 miles but less than 50 miles further from former residence than was the former place of work:
- Lodging en route from the old residence to the new residence (must be a move of at least 30 miles);
- Cost of moving personal effects;
- One way mileage at the standard state rates; and
- Temporary Storage (defined as 30 days or less).
When the new work location is a least 50 miles further from former residence than was the former place of work, the following moving expenses should be submitted on a payment voucher (DA-120 or DA-103) or a travel voucher (DA-125). Expenditure subobject 2130 should be used for in-state moves or 2140 for out-of-state moves:
- Cost of moving personal effects;
- Mileage and lodging en route while moving from the old residence to the new residence; and
- Temporary storage (defined as 30 days or less).
Moving reimbursement continues to be subject to the following limitations and requirements:
- A DA-22, Agreement for Reimbursement of Moving Expenses, signed by the employee should be attached to the payment voucher, or the voucher should indicate that it is retained in the agency's files.
- Each employee shall attempt to obtain three firms bids and shall be responsible for selection of the lowest cost responsible carrier. A standard bid form is attached to Informational Circular Number 1265, and may continue to be used at this time. Use of this form is not mandatory, but provides a consistent format which may be used by employees seeking bids. The three bids should be attached to the SHARP payment document.
- Maximum reimbursement is limited to 12,000 pounds.
- The original bill of lading should be attached to the payment voucher.
- The employee should be reimbursed or the warrant may be made payable jointly to the employee and the carrier (however, you must use the employee's social security number with a different vendor number suffix).
Payments for out-of-state employee moves require that a copy (signed by the Governor) of the "Request to Pay Out-of-State Applicants" must be attached to the payment voucher.
The following forms related to employee moving have been revised for your use. A copy of each is attached to this circular:
Agreement for Reimbursement of Moving Expenses (DA-22)
Subsistence of Storage Extension Request (DA-34)
Request to Pay Expenses of Out-of-State Applicants
Attachments: forms (pdf)