21-P-012 Employee Taxability of State-Owned or Leased Vehicles (December 23, 2020)
Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:51 PM by Kansas Department of Administration
Informational Circular No.
Supersedes Informational Circular No:
January 1, 2021
(Original Signature on File)
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced the standard mileage rate decreased to 56 cents beginning January 1, 2021 under the Cents-Per-Mile method of valuing an employee’s personal (commuting) use of a state-owned or leased vehicle. The standard mileage rate for business is based on an annual study of the fixed and variable costs of operating an automobile. The Cents-Per-Mile valuation is one of several methodologies that can be used to calculate fringe benefit income. See Informational Circular No. 05-P-023*. Using this methodology, fringe benefit income is calculated by multiplying the 56 cents rate by the number of personal (commuting) miles driven by the employee in the state-owned or leased vehicle.
To be eligible to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, at least 50% of the vehicle’s total mileage is used for the employer’s trade or business, or the vehicle is primarily used by employees and the total mileage for the vehicle exceeds 10,000 miles per year. The Cents-Per-Mile method may not be used for ‘luxury’ vehicles. If a vehicle is first made available to an employee for personal (commuting) use in calendar year 2021 and the agency wishes to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, the fair market value of the vehicle cannot exceed $51,100 for automobiles (including trucks and vans).
Agencies and employees are also reminded that the only personal use of a state-owned or leased vehicle allowed under state law is to commute between the employee’s work station and
Please note that this Informational Circular does not impact the State’s privately-owned vehicle mileage reimbursement rate.
*Informational Circular No. 05-P-023 contains an incorrect K.A.R. reference number in the next to the last paragraph of the POLICY section. The reference should be: Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-17-2a(b)(1).
Printable Version of 21-P-012