Kansas Department of Administration

17-P-015 Employee Taxability of State-Owned or Leased Vehicle (December 16, 2016)

Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:51 PM by Kansas Department of Administration

Informational Circular No.

17-P-015

Supersedes Informational Circular No:

16-P-014


Effective Date:

January 1, 2017

Contact Name:
Amanda Entress

Ph:
(785) 296-3887

Email:
amanda.entress@ks.gov

Approval: Nancy Ruoff
(Original Signature on File)

Summary:
IRS Cents-Per-Mile Valuation Rule Changes for Calendar Year 2017

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced the standard mileage rate will decrease to 53.5 cents beginning January 1, 2017 under the Cents-Per-Mile method of valuing an employee’s personal (commuting) use of a state-owned or leased vehicle.  The standard mileage rate for business is based on an annual study of the fixed and variable costs of operating an automobile.  The Cents-Per-Mile valuation is one of several methodologies that can be used to calculate fringe benefit incomeSee Informational Circular No. 05-P-023*.  Using this methodology, fringe benefit income is calculated by multiplying the 53.5 cents rate by the number of personal (commuting) miles driven by the employee in the state-owned or leased vehicle.  To be eligible to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, at least 50% of the vehicle’s total mileage is used for the employer’s trade or business, or the vehicle is primarily used by employees and the total mileage for the vehicle exceeds 10,000 miles per year.  The Cents-Per-Mile method may not be used for ‘luxury’ vehicles.  If a vehicle is first made available to an employee for personal (commuting) use in calendar year 2017 and the agency wishes to use the Cents-Per-Mile method, the fair market value of the vehicle cannot exceed $15,900 for a car (unchanged from 2016), and $17,800 (up from $17,700 in 2016) for a passenger truck or van.  Agencies and employees are also reminded that the only personal use of a state-owned or leased vehicle allowed under state law is to commute between the employee’s work station and home, and then in only limited situations.

Please note that this Informational Circular does not impact the State’s privately owned vehicle mileage reimbursement rate. 

*Informational Circular No. 05-P-023 contains an incorrect K.A.R. reference number in the next to the last paragraph of the POLICY section.  The reference should be:  Kansas Administrative Regulation 1-17-2a(b)(1).

Printable version of 17-P-015

DH:NTR:abe

Comments
There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.