Kansas Department of Administration

16-P-020 Addition of Earnings Code for Volunteerism Award (April 18, 2016)

Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:50 PM by Kansas Department of Administration

Informational Circular No.


Effective Date:

April 10, 2016

Contact Name:
Earl Brynds

(785) 296-5376


Approval: Nancy Ruoff
(Original Signature on File)

Addition of Earnings Code ‘VOA’ for Volunteerism Award

At the implementation of the State of Kansas Employee Award and Recognition Program, an award for volunteerism was categorized as a nonmonetary award and was recorded on the employee’s timesheet under earnings code NMA. After further review of the definition of volunteerism from the Employee Award and Recognition Program, it was determined that this award should be a monetary award. The definition and program guidelines can be found on the Department of Administration’s website at http://www.admin.ks.gov/offices/personnel-services/policies-and-programs/award-and-recognition-program.

Therefore, a new earnings code has been added to SHARP effective April 10, 2016 to administer a volunteerism award.  The following earnings code is eligible to be used starting with the pay period beginning April 10, 2016 through April 23, 2016 paid May 6, 2016.

Earnings Code           Description           Short Description       Effective Dat
        VOA              Award – Volunteerism           Award                   04/10/2016

SHARP agencies: The Office of Personnel Services has created the VOA (Volunteerism Award) Time Reporting Code (TRC) and has mapped the VOA TRC to the VOA earnings code effective April 10, 2016. The VOA TRC is now visible in Time and Labor drop down lists.

The Office of the Chief Financial Officer, Payroll Systems Team, is responsible for adding the new earnings code in the SHARP system.  Regents’ institutions are responsible for implementing the new earnings code in their payroll systems.


Printable Version of 16-P-020



There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2023 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.