Kansas Department of Administration

16-A-013 Updated FY2016 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates (December 28, 2015) (Supersedes 16-A-001)

Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:50 PM by Kansas Department of Administration

Informational Circular No. 16-A-013 Supersedes: 16-A-001

Date of this Informational Circular:

Effective Date:

December 23, 2015

January 1, 2016

Contact Name:

Ginnie Schirmer
Shelley Harvey
Brad Elkins
Brandy Wilson
Chuck Wilson
Janette Martin



(785) 296-7021
(785) 296-2707
(785) 296-3356
(785) 296-6260
(785) 296-6033
(785) 296-2708



Approval:       DeAnn Hill
                    (Original Signature on File) 
 Summary:  Updated FY 2016 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced changes in standard mileage rates effective January 1, 2016.  The IRS rate for privately owned automobiles decreases to 54 cents per mile while the moving mileage rate decreases to 19 cents per mile. 

K.S.A. 75-3203a provides that the mileage reimbursement rates shall not exceed the lowest of the following:

  1. the rate allowed by the IRS;
  2. the rate used in preparing the governor’s budget report under K.S.A. 75-3721, and amendments thereto; or
  3. any revision of the rate as specifically directed in appropriation acts of the legislature.

Thus, per the requirements of K.S.A. 75-3203a, the Department of Administration has reduced the rates for mileage reimbursement for the remainder of FY 2016, effective January 1, 2016:

  • 54¢ per mile for privately owned automobile
  • 51¢ per mile for privately owned motorcycle
  • 19¢ per mile for moving mileage rate
  • $1.17 per mile for privately owned airplane (based on air miles rather than highway miles)


Printable version of 16-A-013

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2023 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.