Kansas Department of Administration

16-A-003 CONUS Implementation Date (September 4, 2015)

Posted on 10/21/2021 at 12:50 PM by Kansas Department of Administration


Informational Circular No. 16-A-003
Date of this Informational Circular: September 4, 2015
Contact Name:
Ginnie Schirmer
Shelley Harvey
Brad Elkins
Brandy Wilson
Chuck Wilson
Janette Martin
Ph:
(785)296-7021
(785) 296-2707
(785) 596-3356
(785) 296-6260
(785) 296-6033
(785) 296-2708
Email:
ginnie.schirmer@da.ks.gov
shelley.harvey@da.ks.gov
brad.elkins@da.ks.gov
brandy.wilson@da.ks.gov
chuck.wilson@da.ks.gov
janette.martin@da.ks.gov
 Approval:  DeAnn Hill (original signature on file)
Summary:
Implementation Date for CONUS rates for the State of Kansas

Per the Secretary of Administration, the State of Kansas will adopt federal standards for per diem rates for travel and expense effective with all travel that occurs on or after January 1, 2016.  The federal rates consist of CONUS (Contiguous United States) established by the General Services Administration, OCONUS (Outside the Contiguous United States) established by the Department of Defense, and Foreign rates established by the U.S. Department of State.

  • CONUS/OCONUS/Foreign rates will be utilized for travel authorizations and expense reports where the travel date is January 1, 2016, or later
  • Agencies should continue to use the current travel rates for all travel that will occur through December 31, 2015
  • Effective at SMART 9.2 go-live on November 13, 2015, existing travel expense types and rates will continue to be available for travel dates through December 31, 2015 and the new expense types and travel rates will be available and effective for travel dates beginning January 1, 2016, or later
  • Beginning November 13, 2015 and thereafter, agencies will be able to enter travel authorizations using the new rates for travel that will occur on or after January 1, 2016
  • A travel event that crosses over the January 1, 2016 effective date for CONUS/OCONUS/Foreign rates, should be split into two separate travel authorizations and expense reports
  • Additional information regarding this change will be communicated in the coming months

 

Printable Version of 16-A-003


DH:jm

 

Comments
There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.