Kansas Department of Administration

15-A-004 - Updated FY2015 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates (January 1, 2015) (Supersedes 15-A-001)

Posted on October 21, 2021 at 12:50 PM by Kansas Department of Administration


Informational Circular No.

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

15-A-004



Supersedes Informational Circular No:
15-A-001 (dated: 07/01/2014)


Date of this Informational Circular:

Effective Date:

December 23, 2014

January 1, 2015

Contact Name:
Ginnie Schirmer
Shelley Harvey
Brad Elkins
Janette Martin


Approval:


Phone:
(785) 296-7021
(785) 296-2707
(785) 296-3356
(785) 296-2708


DeAnn Hill
(original signature on file)

Email:
Ginnie Schirmer
Shelley Harvey
Brad.Elkins
Janette Martin 





Summary:  Updated FY2015 Private Vehicle Mileage Rates
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has announced changes in standard mileage rates effective January 1, 2015.  The IRS rate for privately owned automobiles increases to 57.5 cents per mile while the moving mileage rate decreases to 23 cents per mile. 

K.S.A. 75-3203a provides that the mileage reimbursement rate shall not exceed the lowest of the following rates:

  1. the rate allowed by the IRS;
  2. the rate used in preparing the governor’s budget report under K.S.A. 75-3721, and amendments thereto; or
  3. any revision of the rate as specifically directed in appropriation acts of the legislature.

 

Thus, per the requirements of K.S.A. 75-3203a, the Department of Administration will NOT raise the privately owned automobile reimbursement rate for the remainder of FY 2015.  However, the moving mileage rate must decrease so as not to exceed the IRS moving mileage rate.


As authorized by K.S.A.75-3203a, the Secretary of Administration has fixed the following private vehicle maximum mileage reimbursement rates for the remainder of FY 2015, effective January 1, 2015:

     Reduced -
         23¢ per mile for moving mileage rate

     
Unchanged -
         56¢ per mile for privately owned automobile
         53¢ per mile for privately owned motorcycle
         $1.31 per mile for privately owned airplane (based on air miles rather

          than highway miles)

DH:jm

Printable version of 15-A-004

 

 

 









 

 
Comments
There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2022 Kansas Department of Administration. All rights reserved.