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SUBJECT
Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss Claims

PURPOSE

To provide procedures for processing claims against the state for personal injury or property damage or loss claims.

AUTHORITATIVE REFERENCES
K.S.A. 46-913





K.S.A. 46-924

K.S.A. 46-920





K.S.A. 46-925

K.S.A. 46-922

GENERAL INFORMATION

Payments authorized
Agencies are authorized to make payments for certain claims against the state for personal injury or property damage or loss. The circumstances under which these payments are authorized and the maximum payment limits are as follows:

1. Inmate Claims - The Secretary of Corrections may reimburse any inmate of any correctional institution or other facility under the Secretary's jurisdiction for any personal injury or personal property damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in the Secretary's opinion, that such loss or damage was caused by the negligence of the state or any agency, officer, or employee thereof. Payments for these claims cannot exceed $500.  (K.S.A. 46-920)
2. Employee Claims - The head of any state agency is authorized to make payment to the officers or employees of the agency for property damage or loss occurring while that officer or employee is acting within the scope of employment if the property damage or loss, in the opinion of the agency head, did not occur as a result of negligence of the claimant. Payments for these claims cannot exceed $1,000. (K.S.A. 46-922(b))

3. Non-Employee Claims - The head of any state agency is authorized to make payment to any other person for personal injury or property damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in the agency head's opinion, that such damage or loss was caused by the negligence of the state or any agency, officer, or employee thereof. Payments for these claims cannot exceed $1,000. See item number five for claims against the University of Kansas Medical Center hospital and item number six for claims against the Kansas Highway Patrol. (K.S.A. 46-922(c))

4. Homemaker Program Claims - The Secretary of the Department for Children and Families is authorized to make payment, from funds appropriated to the Secretary for the Homemaker Program, to any person for personal injury or property damage or loss caused by an act of a homemaker employed by the Secretary. Payments for these claims cannot exceed $1,000. (K.S.A. 46-922(c))

5. University of Kansas Medical Center Hospital Claims - The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Kansas Medical Center is authorized to make payment to any other person for personal injury or property damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in the Vice-Chancellor's opinion, that; (1) such damage or loss was caused by the negligence of the University of Kansas Medical Center hospital, or any officer or employee thereof; or (2) such damage or loss occurred at the University of Kansas Medical Center hospital and it is in the best interest of the hospital to make such payment. Payments for these claims cannot exceed $2,500. (K.S.A. 46-922(e)) 
6. Kansas Highway Patrol Claims – The Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol is authorized to make payment to any other person for personal injury or property damage or loss occurring under circumstances which establish, in the Superintendent’s opinion, that such damage or loss occurred during law enforcement efforts by the Kansas Highway Patrol to persons who were not negligent during such effort.  Payments for these claims cannot exceed $2,500. (K.S.A. 46-922(g))
Payment Limitations
Claim payments authorized under these procedures may not exceed the limits previously noted. If the claim is for more than the allowable limit, the claimant may file a claim with the Joint Committee on Special Claims against the State as authorized by K.S.A. 46-913.

No claim payments may be made to a person who is an insurer and who is making the claim as a subrogee for all or part of any amount paid to such person's insured.

Release of Liability by Acceptance of Claim Payment
The acceptance by the claimant of any payment made pursuant to this claim shall be final and conclusive and shall constitute a complete release of any and all existing and future claims for personal injury or property damage or loss against the agency named, the State of Kansas and any individual, employee or agent thereof arising from the stated event. Said acceptance shall be binding on all heirs, successors, or assigns.

Claim Forms

Claims may be filed on the AR-98, Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss Claim Against the State of Kansas, or on an agency form which has been approved by the Department of Administration. The AR-98 form can be obtained from the Department web page.

Reporting Requirements
Personal Injury or Property Damage or Loss Claims fall under K.S.A. 46-925 for reporting requirements. This statute requires that claims be reported to the Department along with appropriate documentation and that upon request of any legislator, legislative committee or the Legislative Research Department or other legislative staff agency, the Department shall compile and provide a report concerning all payments made.

PROCEDURES

	Responsibility
	
	Action Step

	
	
	

	Claimant
	
	1.  Completes claim form AR-98, or other approved form, has the completed form notarized, and submits the original form to the agency.

	
	
	

	State Agency
	
	2.  Investigates and documents the claim by obtaining statements from witnesses to the incident, police reports, internal security investigation reports, insurance company reimbursements to claimant, age and condition of property, and any other pertinent information. Attaches documentation to claim form.

	
	
	

	
	
	3.  Reviews claim and supporting documentation to determine whether the claim meets the reimbursement provisions of K.S.A. 46-920 or 46-922 as applicable.

	
	
	

	
	
	4.  If claim is to be paid, the agency head must select the appropriate certification statement listed on the claim form and sign on the appropriate signature line.  This must be an original signature by the agency head and not a signature stamp.

	
	
	

	
	
	5.  For approved claims, enters payment information into SMART.
· Use account code 552200 for personal injury claims and 552300 for property damage or loss claims.
· Include in the Payment Note section a brief description of the nature of the claim and reference to the statutory authority under which the claim is being submitted.

	
	
	

	
	
	6.  Electronically transmits to the Audit Services Team of the Department of Administration at ARPreaudit@da.ks.gov  
· a screen print of the payment voucher,

· the notarized AR-98 claim form, 
· the agency certification statement signed by agency head, and
· supporting documentation for the claim.

	
	
	

	Audit Services Team
	
	7.  Reviews the claim form, supporting documents, and payment voucher screen print to determine compliance with statutory and documentation requirements.  Notifies agency if claim is inappropriate or incomplete.

	
	
	

	
	
	8.  If the claim is complete, assigns unique claim number, electronically transmits claim number to the agency contact and files copy of all claim documents.

	
	
	

	State Agency
	
	9.  Enters claim number in the Invoice field and then completes voucher payment process through SMART.  The check and any necessary documentation are sent to the claimant.

	
	
	

	Audit Services Team
	
	10. Records and updates claim files for payments made under this procedure and does follow-up on unpaid claims.

	
	
	

	
	
	11. Prepares report of claims paid in accordance with K.S.A. 46-925.


Useful Links: 
AR-98 – Personal Injury or Property damage or Loss Claim against the State 
CONTACT SOURCES
For additional information concerning claims processing, please contact:




Department of Administration

Office of the Chief Financial Officer



Audit Services Team

